FATHER, INTO YOUR HANDS I COMMIT MY SPIRIT

Jesus on the cross

One of the seven lasts sayings of Christ as He died on the cross is found in Luke 23:46, and reads, “Father, into Your hands I commit My Spirit.” When I read this verse, the first thing that came to my mind is how much Jesus trusted His Father. Jesus had to have trusted God because you don’t commit things to people you don’t trust.  The word commit means to place in safekeeping. That signifies you have a certain level of confidence in that person, and you are entrusting into their care that which is important and sacred to you.

The reason Jesus could trust in God is because He had an intimate knowledge of Him. He called Him “Father,” and that signifies there was a high level of intimacy between them. The Apostle Paul says in II Timothy 1:12 , “For I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.” Because Paul had intimate knowledge of God, he was fully persuaded about God’s ability to keep whatever he placed in His care, and he also trusted him.

Likewise, you will only commit yourself and your affairs to God if you know Him. To know Him is to love Him. But to know Him, also is to trust Him. And the best way to know Him is to spend time with Him every day. It’s imperative that you get that time of fellowship with God daily in prayer and feeding on the Word to build your trust in the Lord.

We need to trust God to the degree that Jesus did. We need to entrust our “spirit” our entire being, our lives, everything that we are into His safe keeping in good times and in bad. While hanging on the cross, Jesus was experiencing the darkest moment of His entire life. When we face dark moments, tragedy, things we don’t understand, when we walk through the valley of the shadow of death, we definitely need to trust God.  That is the time to say, “Father, into Your hands I commit my Spirit.”

A refusal to trust God and commit your way unto Him is a proverbial “chink in your armor.” It’s an inroad that Satan will use to destroy your faith through deception, fear, worry, and overwhelm. To avoid this, you must do what the Bible says in Psalm 37:5 , “Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass.” Committing your way to the Lord is another way of saying “Father, into Your hands I commit my spirit” or “Lord, I trust You.” How do you commit your way to the Lord?

  • Present your plans to him tentatively,
  • Pray and ask for His guidance and direction about what you should do.
  • Don’t move until you hear from Him.
  • Follow God’s instructions to the letter when you do hear from him.
  • Do your part, but trust Him with the outcome.

We need to follow Jesus’ example and fully commit ourselves to God. In other words, we need to be willing to relinquish our self-sufficiency be willing to be totally dependent on Him. The pride that comes with self-sufficiency must be annihilated because Jesus said, “Apart from Me you can do nothing.”

Therefore, you must expect God to take you through a process where His purpose is to strip you of a “spirit of independence.” He wants you to say, “Father into Your hands I commit my Spirit. Everything that I am, my life, my affairs, I commit it all to you.” That statement says to God, “I am dying to self, and I am letting You call the shots in my life, and I am leaving the outcome up to You.” That is how we pick up our cross, follow Christ, and allow our flesh to be crucified. It’s not easy, but it’s worth it in the end. Therefore, I charge you to follow Jesus’ example and tell the Lord, “Father, into Your hands, I commit My spirit.”

What has God taught you about committing your spirit into His hands? Please leave a comment below.

I’d love your help spreading the word about my books, Oasis for My Soul: Poems and Inspirational Writings for Spiritual and Personal Growth and The Exceptional Man: Love Poems and Inspirational Writings Celebrating Godly Men and Great RelationshipsClick here to find out ways you can help.

Would you like to receive your FREE e-chapbook entitled, Your Faith Has Made You Whole: Poems and Inspirational Writings for Spiritual Transformation, by Tracey L. Moore? Go to www.traceylmoore.com and subscribe to the email list.

Find me on Facebook:  www.facebook.com/TraceyLMoore2012

Follow me on Twitter:  @TraceyLMoore1

Image courtesy of Junior Gomes via freeimages.com

Leave a Reply

